PC spec

kagi

My current PC is just over 3 years old and has an AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor 3500+ 2.20 GHz and 3 GB ram and
I am about to replace it.

I would appreciate it if anyone could offer any suggestions for a Processor, Intel or AMD ? Duo or Quad.
Will these be better for multitasking than my existing set up, which is not to good. (I am a system trader, running a backtest over lots of markets can take 15 minutes and the PC is not much good for anything else whilst it is doing it)

4 GB of ram but is it worth paying more for the higher speed ram

As for the operating system I think it will have to be XP, as one of my trading programmes, Mechanica only works with that. Any thoughts on this?

The new Intel C2D CPUs with 6 Mb L2 cache are good value for money. I think they are called 85xx series. You should be able to overclock these by quite a bit for extra speed without compromising system stability. If you do overclock, get an after market CPU cooler thats better than the Intel stock cooler. (Ive overclocked a 2.13 Ghz C2D CPU to 3.2 Ghz without any problems at all and the new chips should be even better in that respect.).

Hard to say if a quad core would be better. It might be but it depends on the software you are using. However 85xx will probably overclock better than an Q6600 quad.

Faster memory should help performance, but again it depends on the software. It's really hard to generalize about these things. System performance is a very complex topic. Faster memory is becoming fairly affordable, but DDR3 is still poor value for money compared to DDR2 .

If money is no object get the top of the line quad core, but they are pricy.

Definately go for Intel rather than AMD. Sadly they are currently the performance king and it doesn't look like changing in the immediate future.