Moving a stop loss on a rolled over trade ?

Jackie284

Hi everyone,

I'm still really new to this spread betting, but I'm currently using a demo account with Capital Spreads. Anyway, I placed a trade yesterday morning, and it rolled over last night with a profit of £26.00, from a stake of £2. Is there any way I can lock that profit in by moving my stop loss over the weekend ?

many thanks

Jackie

moving stop

Hi, Just log in to your account. At top click on "Order Book" - an order slip will appear with your current order, simply adjust the order to your new order and click confirm.
Regards Jim

thanks Jim,
so if the index I traded on opens lower on Monday, the £26.00 will be locked in ?

thanks again
Jackie

stop loss

Well in theory. Problem sometimes with leaving trades overnite or weekend, price often moves almost instantly the instant CS open for trading and can often go right thru your stop. In real live trading you are stopped at the nearest price when a dealers activates your order. Of course, sometimes the price can move in your favour which is OK. I seldom leave positions overnite, sometimes shorts, but normally close trades. I never leave over a weekend. Suppose your were in a long trade and left it over weekend. Sat. afternoon, Bush attacks Iran or Al AQueda attack USA, markets will instantly plummet hundreds of points at the open and you would lose big time. Thats what demo's are for, to learn. Have fun,
Regards Jim

Hi Jackie,

Jim's right about leaving your positions open especially over the weekend. You can get a guaranteed stop loss, but not at CS, some other SB co's do this but you will pay more for it.

Good luck!

Ken

Hi,

how much more will we be charged for a guaranteed stop loss and if it is worth using?
thanks!