Help with Trailing stops for newbie with £1500 of profit

silverpuma

Hi all,

Last year I invested in RBS TW and PSN using my £22,000 savings. I use selftrade and due to a serious illness I left the trades to sit and drop with the result today my portfolio is worth £13,000 approx. I had no stop losses, just my head in the sand along with my illness:cry:.

But my TW, Taylor Wimpy shares that I bought for around 0.42p are now at 0.50.25p and I just checked I'm siting on a £1500 profit on these shares.

I don't want to lose again so I'm thinking of setting a trailing stop on my TW shares that would sell at Min price fall 5% and max price fall 10% and using the "immediate" option. This using their estimating would be a range of 47.7375 / 45.225. is this a good stragity? Basically I want to allow for the slight possibility of the shares going higher and follow my profits up (heres hoping!!) but still sell and make some profit if they dive.

I'm still learning so please be patient with me..............thanks:D

A trailing stop should trigger at one price. I don't know how min or max % helps, but you could also simply enter a sell stop order at 47.7375 (or 45.225) and achieve the same type of protection. The only benefit trailing the stop has is that it readjusts itself upwards automatically. I use TS's all the time when I have a profit and have to go to lunch. You certainly can use it for TW in my opinion.

Hope it helps!

Theo

Thanks Theo, I wonder could you or someother helpful posted look at the following info from the selftrade site: you can scroll down the page to the "TRAILING STOPS" section.....thanks!!

Start to track the peak price immediately 'Immediate' trailing stop example

Share price 100p; 'immediate' option chosen; 'top' price 5% below the peak price; 'bottom' price 15% below the peak price.