FXCM Account Types

Steve.Newton

Hi all,

I am trading the FTSE100 only with FXCM. I created an account a few months ago and now on browsing around note that they advertise two accounts. A standard account and a spread betting account, the latter being the only account which is exempt from Capital Gains tax here in the UK.

How do I know what I have as I didn't specifically ask for one or the other, nor was I asked that I recall? If I have the wrong one am I liable to CGT? I am a UK resident.

Don't wish to pay tax on profits thanks.

Steve.

I think you do have a spreadbetting account because I also have an account with FXCM (Micro account) and I can only trade currencies, gold and silver and not FTSE. I know that FTSE and other indices are only available on the spreadbetting account.

Of course its always best to ask them first.

I think you do have a spreadbetting account because I also have an account with FXCM (Micro account) and I can only trade currencies, gold and silver and not FTSE. I know that FTSE and other indices are only available on the spreadbetting account.

Of course its always best to ask them first.

Cheers, I will ask them tomorrow but as is s*ds law I always come up with questions when they aren't open. I had a minor panic there given I am currently doing my tax return.

Hi all,

I am trading the FTSE100 only with FXCM. I created an account a few months ago and now on browsing around note that they advertise two accounts. A standard account and a spread betting account, the latter being the only account which is exempt from Capital Gains tax here in the UK.

How do I know what I have as I didn't specifically ask for one or the other, nor was I asked that I recall? If I have the wrong one am I liable to CGT? I am a UK resident.

Don't wish to pay tax on profits thanks.

Steve.

From what I remember you have to select the type of account when you apply?