Futures vs Options

pb

Hi,
I understand futures, but I'm very new to options. I have just started to read the materials at the options forum here at T2W. I have a very basic question, if you guys don't mind.

Given that options are far more complicated that futures (with strategies more difficult to learn), why would anyone trade them at all? There must be some serious risk/reward reasons for people to invest in options instead of sticking to futures. Could someone elaborate please?

Thanks very much.

If you area buyer of the option your downside is limited.

You can construct strategies for almost any perceived eventuality. For instance suppose you were mildly bearish, you could buy a put at one strike price and sell one lower down, thus reducing your overall cost. Maximum profit would come when the price is between both strikes (actuall just above the strike of the short put).

Just an example.

selling optioms is a good game. Most of them expire worthless and the premium is paid upfront. Regular income 15-20 percent.

Osho,

All well and good for 85% of the year. Then comes the one that wipes you out mate........

pratbh - futures are one dimensional, i.e. they either go up or down along a line directly proportional to the move in the instrument you are tracking. Options are 3 dimensional in that the price is influenced not just by the price of the instrument you are trading, but by time to expiry and the volatility of the underlying as well (and to small extent according to changes in interest rates and dividends). So whilst there are more things that can go wrong, there are also more things that can move in your favour if you get it right, or even partially right.

The General - your observation is a very sweeping one. If you jump out of a plane you're going to get hurt, but no mention of whether you are wearing a parachute, and also carry a reserve.