Any suggestions on where to find a flaw?

sopelote

Hi, I am pretty new at TS and a friend sent me a strategy that he has written that has buy and sell signals that are given when the price closes, on the bottom of the hour, beyond the limits of a certain indicator. It works fine on his TS and has given a pretty good progress report over time.
My problem is that his strategy only give the sell signals, on my TS, and none of the buy signals. Nor are any buy signal results shown in my progress reports for this indicator. I've asked him what he thinks the problem could be and he says that; he dosen't know, and the strategy works fine on his TS. He has sent me the strategy twice and I have deleted it and reinstalled it a couple of times but it still hasn't found the buys..I checked the Easy Language power editor and there are seperate buy and sell signal scripts in there for this strategy...
Can anyone suggest where to trouble shoot for solving this problem?? many thanks for any comments :)

You will need to post the Easylanguage code for each of the indicators or signals in the strategy and then one of us who use TS should be able to work out what is wrong.

Paul

Thanks Paul, unfortunately I don't have the originator's ok to post his script. I do see that the buy and sell scripts are mirror images of each other. yet only the sell signals are working.. The strategy works in his TS and he sent it to me twice. Perhaps I should examine the scripts of all related indicators as you imply. all the indicators should be 'out of the box' and OK but it is a place to look...anyway, that is what I am getting from your post.. many thanks and any more ideas of where-how to check are very welcome!

Last edited:
Most likely he was using older or newer version than you.
Look for buy and sell and Exit commands in EL.
or
buy to cover, sell short commands. What used to be exitlong and exitshort are now sell and buy to cover.
sell is now sell short. Buy remains buy.