Am I really winning?

azzauk

Hi Guys

First post so apologies if this isn't in quite the right place.

I am a newbie currently studying trading with a view to becoming a live trader at some point down the road. I have today started using demo account from Cannon Trading using a software tool called Transact to trade currency futures.

Today I made around £6k (play money) thanks to a pattern i picked up on 6AU9 whereby I traded just on looking at the depth table and I was noticing that there was a lot of orders on both buy and sell that were ahead of the market price.

So for example:

With the current price 0.7946 there was multiple bids to buy the market at 3-4 points higher(i.e. 0.7947-50). In this example I saw this as a strong buy single and 9/10 did well on the back of it buying at the current price.

The same signals worked on a sell too.

These patterns seemed to be happening with great regularity, more so on 6AU9 than other contracts I was looking at.

That said my success has made me nervous. I'd welcome any views on whether or not these patterns are realistic?

Also to date I have been playing with spot markets on demo accounts, whereby the data and prices used are live and real. Am I right in assuming that on a demo futures account with transact, the data is real and the order levels are real?

Any thoughts welcome.

Thanks

Arron

How were there bids to buy 3 points higher? Or do you mean offers to sell?

If so, then 'size attracts' in general.

I was actually seeing bids to buy at a higher price which struck me as very strange?

So you were able to buy at a price lower than the highest bid on the market depth?