Volatility of GBP USD

CHRISTO9HER

Hi guys,

I am a newbie and have been trading a demo account on MT4. I have a question. Does the volatility of the GBP USD vary according to what time of day it is? I know about the overlapping time zones etc. but does this cause any patterns in the volatility of the rate?

I am trading at night (UK) because I have to study all day, and it seems to get real quiet after 10pm. Is this just because the trading in NY dies down at this time?

Could anyone give me a quick rundown of how the volatility changes according to UK time and when the best time to trade it is?

Thanks guys

C

I am a newbie and have been trading a demo account on MT4. I have a question. Does the volatility of the GBP USD vary according to what time of day it is? I know about the overlapping time zones etc. but does this cause any patterns in the volatility of the rate?

I am trading at night (UK) because I have to study all day, and it seems to get real quiet after 10pm. Is this just because the trading in NY dies down at this time?

Could anyone give me a quick rundown of how the volatility changes according to UK time and when the best time to trade it is?

Your observation is right on. As the NY session moves toward its conclusion the action tends to slow down, though certainly that doesn't always mean little movement. There is generally a bit of a gap between the NY wrap up and the really pick-up of Asian trading.

The big action period of the day is the London/NY overlap, which is about noon to 5pm UK.

MP -- just have a good watch that reads EVERY timezone !

Your observation is right on. As the NY session moves toward its conclusion the action tends to slow down, though certainly that doesn't always mean little movement. There is generally a bit of a gap between the NY wrap up and the really pick-up of Asian trading.

The big action period of the day is the London/NY overlap, which is about noon to 5pm UK.