US stocks for beginners

wasp

Legendary member
Mornin all,

I am in pursuit of branching out into US Stock trading, mainly NASDAQ and mainly intraday. I know nothing whatsoever about trading US Stocks and all my experience lies in currencies so I am a complete novice.

I'm in no major rush to start, which is quite handy seeing as LII to me at the moment looks awful pretty but means absolute zilch and my knowledge of volume goes as far as the dial on the front of my laptop.

So the pursuit of the thread is for a couple of things;

Firstly, knowledge. Any knowledge, education, reading, advice, suggestions and thoughts on the difference between US stocks and other markets, and more depth behind the LII and volume aspects and how best to go about choosing stocks.

Secondly, live calls or even past tense with reasoning. The threads not for proving anything just for, hopefully, all to learn and understand stock trading. Any trades whether live, yesterday or last week with a bit of explanation would be great. Not asking for anyones edge, just basic whys and hows.

Coming from a FX background all I am used to and all I know is a blank bar chart, so in hope, we can build a comprehensive, independant thread for this as it is all new and fascinating and hopefully a great way for all newbies to learn and advance.

Looking forward to everyones input.

Chris

Goog

To kick it off, heres GOOG I watched yesterday.

Like I said, Everything but the chart means nothing to me and there are a few obvious oppportunities I see from the price action alone but I'm sure the rest of the screen helps somehow!? :eek:

Attachments

• GOOG3.JPG
    GOOG3.JPG
    181.1 KB · Views: 478
Good idea for a thread Chris. I hope you get some useful responses.

I'd go even further and as you're new to US stocks, suggest you initiate a number of threads. Any one single thread tends to get lost even on the narrowest of topics.