T & S with IG Markets. What's the point?

chica

Hola,

I'm newish to this, after a couple months trading I've come to the conclusion that i'm not very good at determining when to close a position and that among other things, T&S could be a great help. I confess I felt a tinge of excitement as I upgraded my IG platform from PureDeal to the L2 Dealer with its T&S functionality. I was ready to spend a few months staring at the info in tandem with a LII screen in the hope that one day sooner rather than later I would finally get it. But alas I was wrong. After staring at it for a couple days I realised there was something missing... that the window does not differentiate between buying and selling! Having phoned them up to query this I was told there is no way to tweak the window to distinguish between the two! So i'm asking myself what's the point of having it in the first place? IG Markets "written by dealers for dealers."

Anyways, the search is on to find something with a decent T&S window to complement IG. I've trawled through T2W for a few days to no avail, i'm not overly familiar with the options available, this is what i've found so far.

X Trader (too expensive), ninja trader (would have to change broker and few leap out at me or seem to support CFD trading apart from MF Global whose commision is too high for me at the moment), could change broker to TD Waterhouse and use their active trader but TD appear to have a poor reputation from what I have read. Only viable alternative from what I can see is joining IB to use their tradestation although I don't want to to feel compelled to trade with them. I trade CFD shares, the big FTSE listed miners.