So where do you make YOUR money?

I simply LOVE being lectured to by someone who has been trading for less than half a year.. top condescension Howard :cheesy:

I have been using money management principles for over 40 years when I started investing and making my own investment decisions. For me, investing vs. trading is a somewhat blurry line, but I would call my activities this year trading.

I've had many a student in my career in many different knowledge domains who pointed out weaknesses in some of my "articles of faith." Quite a humbling experience, that.

Quite a humbling experience, that.

Yep, humility has value, too. Just like adversity. And here's another opportunity to quote the great American humorist, journalist, and cartoonist Kin Hubbard (who was much admired by Groucho Marx, the columnist H. Allen Smith, and the great radio satirist Fred Allen):

"I'll say this for adversity: people seem to be able to stand it, and that's more than I can say for prosperity."

When I was younger I didn't grasp a great many things. As the song lyric from the show Gigi goes:

The Fountain Of Youth is dull as paint
Methuselah is my patron saint
I've never been so comfortable before
I'm so glad that I'm not young any more.

I have been using money management principles for over 40 years when I started investing and making my own investment decisions. For me, investing vs. trading is a somewhat blurry line, but I would call my activities this year trading.

If I were to guess, I would imagine that as a fully paid up American, you were doing the honourable thing and investing in the stockmarket for a few decades ("investing"). You also have a 401k plan, also in equities. Things were looking just dandy until 2008 when all of a sudden, you suffered a 40% drop in the value of your investments.