Macd

Trading eh? I fooking hate it...this morning I do anyhow, lost close on 3% of one account..that's me out for the day...that hasn't happened for a long long time...:eek:
Well BS, I don't know what it is that you've got but, if it's any consolation, I appear to have caught the same 'bug'. I'm down 1.75% today (and knocking it on the head) which is the biggest hit I've taken in one day, the biggest this year and, in fact, the biggest since I started trading the YM. I should have listened to my late mother more, as she was always telling me that I spent too much time fraternizing with the wrong crowd. I never realised she meant Forex traders!
;)
Tim.

Hi bulkbiz,

I did not test my method on the forex market as the focus of my paper is the equity market. However, whatever analysis I have done thus far can be done by any numerically literate person. Just get the data in whichever time frame, generate the moving averages in Excel, and do some number crunching. You never know what sort of insight it may provide. I am also finding that using longer-term moving averages gives greater returns. But the drawback is, of course, the long-term moving averages generate less trading signals!

I am not sure what other advice to give you, besides what I already have said. I do not trade these systems as I am a day trader at heart. However, if you are finding that your friends, who utilize the same method as you, are making more pips, then maybe that is their trading system. What I mean by this is there could be a possibility that in their historical analysis, your friends have identified that after having a 700 - 800 pip open profit a trade, the market is likely to reverse, even if the MACD does not convey a signal for exit.