How does one get Flat?

adrianjm

Some background:

I have an IB account with a Base Currency of EUR. I am trading the EUR/AUD and have been enjoying the recent drop from 1.4. I am thinking around this area of 1.3 - 1.32 has some support, and I want to get flat.

My position size is the size of my account - no leverage.

So currently my $$ are in AUD currency. How do I sell out of the position without going Long Euros, and potentially losing against the AUD should the EUR continue to decline? What do most people do in this position? Do they hedge, and just spread their $$ over the 2 currencies - so in essence I'd sell half my AUD's for Euros?

Or is there another way? Or do most people never get 'flat', just tumble their cash across whatever currency pair looks promising at the time?

I'm new to this stuff - equities and indexes have been my focus and never really looked into currencies.

Thanks !

Adrian

Some background:

I have an IB account with a Base Currency of EUR. I am trading the EUR/AUD and have been enjoying the recent drop from 1.4. I am thinking around this area of 1.3 - 1.32 has some support, and I want to get flat.

My position size is the size of my account - no leverage.

So currently my $$ are in AUD currency. How do I sell out of the position without going Long Euros, and potentially losing against the AUD should the EUR continue to decline? What do most people do in this position? Do they hedge, and just spread their $$ over the 2 currencies - so in essence I'd sell half my AUD's for Euros?

Or is there another way? Or do most people never get 'flat', just tumble their cash across whatever currency pair looks promising at the time?

I'm new to this stuff - equities and indexes have been my focus and never really looked into currencies.

Thanks !

Adrian

you should be able to just close the position and realise your profit. speak to your broker if you do not know how to do this on their platform.

I don't think I have explained myself very well.