Hedgefund broker opportunity - Pls help

diceboy

Hi guys,
I am total newbie when it comes to the financial markets, but have been in sales for over 10 yrs. I have now been offered a position as a hedge fund broker. Although training is provided the main issue here is that it is only commission based wages (for the first year and then the average monthly commission will become the basic pay and on top of that commission).
As I understand it is a great opportunity not only to learn (which I want to do) but also make a few bob. At the same time it is a very daunting to be on commission only wage; I need to have some guaranteed monthly income (have a family to support + mortgage etc...)

Sorry for rambling on but I don't know what to do and would be grateful for any advice

Many thanks in advance
Diceboy

Wtf is a "hedge fund broker" supposed to do?
Bottom line diceboy, NO reputable financial company in the trading/broking area works on a comm only basis. Sounds like a bucket shop that's gonna do your cv no good in thje medium/long run.

Reactions: BSD
Thanks for the reply dashing blade. the position is mainly cold calling and selling the funds to corporate clients /institutions. The sales side of it is fine since "I can sell ice to Eskimos" as my old sales manager used to say, however its the uncertainty that it will bring that I don't know If it makes it worth pursuing, (have a small child to provide for and have certain responsibilities that goes with that). But also as you put it that "no reputable financial company works on comm only basis" well it doesn't make it better.

Thanks again for your reply,it definitely gave me some food for thought.

Diceboy