Futures Newb

Goviak

Hello, im fairly new to trading, and read all the threads for a beginner, and decided im gonna buckle down and give it a shot. My friend orignally brought the idea of trading to my attention, and was telling me about trading futures. He has since moved away, so im a bit lost on what sort of software I should use for futures. He had used trade station securities. I was going to go along with the same software, but i was wondering if there was a better program to trade futures for a noive trader like myself? Much appreciated you guys. Thanks

Hi Goviak,
Welcome to T2W.

TradeStation is very popular software and, if you're into programming and automation, then it's a very powerful tool. However, if you're not, then you may end up paying for bells and whistles you don't need or want. If you open a brokerage account with them, then the software is free. However, you might want to hold fire on that front until you've got some experience under your belt and you know which way is up. If you've not yet seen it, then this FAQ might provide a few useful pointers: Can You Recommend a Data Feed, Charting Software & Broker?
Enjoy!
Tim.

Sup G.

Where are you based? If you just need to get your feet wet, there are good ways of doing it fairly cheaply.

If you want a reasonable demo to try things out, look at Lions. They'll give you a demo version of the Open E-Cry set up for a month as standard, although if you ask them they'll extend that for a couple of months. That should give you plenty of time to get comfortable with a platform.

They're not cheap for trading, but platform / data / charting costs are all in and so if you're starting off and trading small they're a good choice.

What contracts / methods are you considering? I trade futures so I might be able to give you some pointers if you want.