Effect of Outright on Spreads, Calenders, Boxes...

ikarus_wolf

I'm on a course at a prop house at the moment and require some help in certain areas...
Currently trading ICE Brent Crude Futures.
July, Aug, Sep, Oct, Nov.

What effect do the outrights have on calender and box spreads?
We've been told we will mainly be trading box spreads and have done some sim trading already. I don't see any valid strategy or know of any yet.

Appreciate any comments and help.
I'm a complete novice so please forgive the ingnorance.

I'm on a course at a prop house at the moment and require some help in certain areas...
Currently trading ICE Brent Crude Futures.
July, Aug, Sep, Oct, Nov.

What effect do the outrights have on calender and box spreads?
We've been told we will mainly be trading box spreads and have done some sim trading already. I don't see any valid strategy or know of any yet.

Appreciate any comments and help.
I'm a complete novice so please forgive the ingnorance.

In Brent (and WTI) often the direction of outright price moves can give you a lead on spread moves. if flat price sells off you would expect more often than not that the near spreads (consecs and jun/dec-dec/dec's) sell off, so your calendar spreads, and flys come off too. the idea being that the back of the curve is relatively more static in value than the front - obviously doesnt always hold true.

another factor will be fundamentals - so if the eia's come out and show a huge build in padd2 (cushing) then the front of wti takes a hit, that means your brent/wti boxes get sold off too, along with the flat price.

valid strategies for spreads and boxes are mean reverting plays, seasonal (not too sure on these) and fundamental plays. they also hold up fairly well for technical analysis, as well as anything else does I mean.

hope some of that helps - out of interest, what firm are you with?