currency pairs to examine

Sluggy

There are so many, do many people here just specialize in a few currency pairs rather than examine many? In other words, how many pairs do usually examine and what pairs do you examine and perhaps bet on?

There are so many, do many people here just specialize in a few currency pairs rather than examine many? In other words, how many pairs do usually examine and what pairs do you examine and perhaps bet on?

The most common(main) pairs traded are:

eur/usd
gbp/usd
usd/chf
usd/jpy

I'm still new to this game but I follow 5 pairs(usd related) + oil whenever I have a chance to. I watch them intraday and spend every possible moment I have watching them. Then I have another 8 pairs, which are all European cross currencies + the Yen. I watch these but have yet to trade them. My main purpose for the cross currencies is to watch the correlation between the pairs. I guess that makes 13 pairs total + oil.

My trades are mainly placed on the eur+gbp+aud/usd and usd/chf. I do look forward to branching out in my trading eventually, but for now I feel like I have enough on my plate. No need to rush.

I just want to say trade whatever amount you are comfortable with. If you are comfortable trading 30+ pairs all the time, go for it. But most likely you will benefit greatly by watching <10 pairs. Don't rush yourself, it'll only slow down the learning process more.

Last edited:

In general, the shorter your trading timeframe, the fewer pairs you'll want to focus on. Day traders, for example, may only trade a pair or two. Someone taking positions they'll be holding for weeks or more will probably be monitoring all of the major pairs and crosses.