Are investment banks really just etonian old boys clubs?

BadManners

Are they?

I have a massive interest in trading, when I was 15 I won an 'online fantasy trading game' and after that I started trading in real money. I only made 4 trades and due to limited capital and all the taxes I ended up only making a profit of around £250. It basically wasn't worth the effort and while still being at school I thought it would be better if I didn't focus on that. Also the way I traded I would never dream of doing now.

I'm now at Loughborough doing a Masters in Electronic Engineering, it's a top uni for my course, and fantastic for sport. I get to train with world record holders, and world champions each day - a great experience. I will probably never make it that far, but it really is great that I get this sort of opportunity. It really changed my life when I met these athletes. I had been admiring them for so long that I thought they were super human, but when I started hearing them talk, seeing what they do and chatting to them in the changing rooms etc I realised that they are actually just normal people like me. Why can't I do something special? It sounds cheesy but I don't think many people are fortunate enough to have that sort of experience.

Yet when I say to people (usually on internet forums) that I'm looking at a career in an Investment Bank I basically get laughed at. Loughborough isn't good enough. I need to go to a Oxbridge, LSE or a London Uni. "There is no smoke without fire" so is this true?

It seems to me that it is ridiculous to base applicant assessment criteria on 'what university they went to'.

Admittedly I don't know much about the various roles in IB or prop firms. From initial research it seems like a prop firm would be better suited for me.