Am I lucky?

futures_man

Hi All.

I wanted to hear your feed back on my trading style and performance.

My Background:

I work as a senior executive for a trading software firm for more then 5 years (develops software for Futures & FX)
Over the course of my work I have been exposed to both computerized and discretionary trading styles and systems (with all kinds of frequency)
I have paper traded for the last 3 years FX and Futures and played around with all kind strategies (short term swing and longer term).
For the last year I have been consistent trading the method that I will describe below (not sure if it classifies as day trading or swing).
With a staring balance of $40K virtual money have I have grown my DEMO account to over $800K in one year using 33X leverage and risking 2.5% of capital per open position.
I trade 12 pairs.
I hold a position for 24 hours (or until my Stop loss or profit target are hit, and then revaluate my position.

I opened a LIVE account with FXCM 1 month and half ago with $40K.
Until today trading the same style I do for paper I am up $24K on this account (using 33X leverage).

My strategy is simple price action, using some SMA and EMA (but relaying on price action)

I start looking at a 4H chart looking for key support and resistance levels of the last 2-3 weeks.
Then I move to a 1H Chart to place my Stop and Limits. In general I look for 40-50 stop and 80+ profit objectives.
I don’t use the "classic" 1 to 3 ratio …
In general I get "hit " with the stops on a third (4) of the pairs (loss) and manage to make at least 40 pips on another 4 and hit homeruns on the remaining (90+ pips)

Let me know what are your feed backs

It should be 2.5% of capital in total. If the market has bad news, it could hit all your positions. That's 12 x 2.5% potentially at risk = 30% of your account gone in the blink of an eye.

Otherwise, sounds good. I like simple systems. They're like me. :D