Entry signal

This is a discussion on Entry signal within the Technical Analysis forums, part of the Methods category; I'm a swing trader and was wondering what other people use as an entry signal to enter a trade after ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Aug 24, 2016, 6:49am   #1

8 Posts
Joined Aug 2016
Entry signal

I'm a swing trader and was wondering what other people use as an entry signal to enter a trade after a setup has been found?
Sidner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2016, 8:22am   #2
Joined Feb 2002
Hi Sidner - that's remarkable, I've just been mulling this over with some notes in my personal journal. After thousands of trades all I can say is I believe there's no single right answer.

I'm a trend-follower using daily charts so not a million miles form your approach I hope.

Let's get this going. I would say there are basically four classes of entry: using an uptrend/upswing as an example -

1. buy in the pull-back - i.e. on a low and falling price. This might be triggered by a %age price fall or breaching a MA or closing below a MA etc. etc. But the key is to enter low, don't wait for confirmation.

2. enter after the pull-back has finished - i.e. buy on a low but rising price. This might be triggered by a %age rise or a MA situation again or breach of high of a swing low bar etc. The key is to wait for confirmation of buying interest to demonstrate the uptrend is still dominant.

3. buy on an off-chart technical signal - i.e. MACD cross or stochastic oscillator cross or whatever you prefer - irrespective of price, the indicator hopefully merely confirms buying pressure.

4. buy at new high - i.e. new all-time or recent high, or highest close in n days or breach of a prior swing high or breach of overhead resistance etc.