Why do 95- 98% of retail traders fail

This is a discussion on Why do 95- 98% of retail traders fail within the Indices forums, part of the Markets category; HI, if you know it or not a survey carried out by FXCM concluded that 95 - 98% of retail ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jun 25, 2014, 1:20pm   #1
Joined Jun 2006
Why do 95- 98% of retail traders fail

HI,

if you know it or not a survey carried out by FXCM concluded that 95 - 98% of retail traders fail. so why is this? So how do you become one of the select few to succeed?

Before I continue and discuss the why's. a bit about me I have been trading since 2006 initially part time and spent time on this forum, before going full time which meant I stopped contributing to concentrate on my trading. I feel that now is a good time to come back and may be discuss, share some insights into what is a successful trader.

what I trade
when I trade
how I trade.

I guess I am aiming this more at newbies rather than seasoned traders as I expect most seasoned pros to already have the experience.

I will leave it for now with the opening statement , if anyone out there is interested to discuss post or message me.

In the mean time feel free to view some of my old posts.
keithh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2014, 10:06pm   #2
Joined Aug 2006
Since trading is essentially just competing amongst traders to take each others money most will fail. Most traders will end up giving their trading capital to the few highly skilled traders. When you think of it like that, you kinda realise that the market has to do whatever it takes to make most traders wrong, most of the time.

If that doesn't make sense, imagine any competition where 100 people were all playing against each other to take each other's cash.

This article http://www.forextradingforbeginners.org.uk/?page_id=67 explains that this manifests it's self as the right thing to do is the thing that feels wrong to most people.