From professional poker player to professional trader?

This is a discussion on From professional poker player to professional trader? within the Home Trader forums, part of the Trading Career category; First post here, total newbie! Hi, my names Andy im 23 and from the UK. Since i was 19 i ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jan 19, 2011, 12:39am   #1
Joined Mar 2009
From professional poker player to professional trader?

First post here, total newbie!

Hi, my names Andy im 23 and from the UK. Since i was 19 i have been a professional poker player. Im not a typical gambler, about 5 years ago when i was 18 i saw someone playing online poker, i was immidiately drawn to it because i saw that it was a skill game. I was totally attracted to using strategy and my wits to beat people and make money. I am very analytical, logical and emotionally detached. I also dont give a **** about losing large sums of money. Which is a plus, because the swings are pretty big and emotionally draining at first.

Very long story short, i have done decently ok for myself. Earning mid 5 figures to low 6figures every year. However, there is definitely a downward trend, in terms of there being less "fish" or poor poker players around, and more professionals. Basically, my margins are being squeezed. So i am essentially looking for new avenues to potentially make more money.

Ive potentially isolated trading and one of these avenues i could pursue, as some of the skills are potentially transferable. Essentially, trading is the same. Using the information you can get your hands on and betting on the outcome.

That being said, where would you guys suggest i start? Do you think this is even worthwhile? I am not looking for a get rich quick scheme, im just looking for potential. Im definitely willing to work hard, learn and put the effort in.