Looking To Day Trade Ftse Futures

This is a discussion on Looking To Day Trade Ftse Futures within the Futures & Options forums, part of the Markets category; Hi there, I am quite new to these BB so please excuse me if I am a bit naive. Basically ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Apr 28, 2003, 10:28pm   #1

Joined Apr 2003
Question Looking To Day Trade Ftse Futures

Hi there,
I am quite new to these BB so please excuse me if I am a bit naive. Basically I have been working in a futures and options back-office for some good houses like Morgan Stanley and Salomon Brothers in London for the past 12 years. I really want to trade my own account in FTSE futures. I am aware of all the risks but feel like I have to get out of the 9-5 rut and day trade from home and make my own destiny. I have been studying the FTSE chart on ADVFN daily looking for patterns etc, and have a useful guide from the masteryoftrading.com from an ex-pit trader come electronic trader which has explained the mechanics i.e widening spread quite often indicates a directional change.
What I am now looking for establish a reputable online broking account. Looks like either Easy2trade.com or Mandirect.com . I am however open to any other suggestions. Also I am looking for a real-time pricing source that shows both the cash and futures market.
Finally if anyone has any useful tips (apart from don't trade FTSE futures) I would greatly appreciate them.
I am not asking for much but hopefully someone may be out there may be able to help.
Thanks in advance
FTSEBOY
FTSEBOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2003, 10:49pm   #2

Joined Dec 2001
Look at IB as well as the others. If you are working for yourself the bottom line on commission is really important. Reduce your outgoings as much as possible.

However I'd say start with a cheaper and more liquid futures contract first. Like the (I bet everyone on here knows what I am going to say!) I'll whisper it......Eurostoxx50.....