Betting Pro turning to Financials

This is a discussion on Betting Pro turning to Financials within the First Steps forums, part of the Reception category; General advice on markets, platforms and brokers, please. I've been turning a steady income from gambling the Betfair football markets ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Oct 14, 2008, 6:01pm   #1
Joined Oct 2008
Betting Pro turning to Financials

General advice on markets, platforms and brokers, please.

I've been turning a steady income from gambling the Betfair football markets for several years now and turned pro earlier this year. I have no financial commitments, a sizeable betting bank and now plenty of time during normal working hours. That's why I'm now looking to move to the next stage and trade financials to seek a much larger return for my efforts. However I'm a relative newbie: although I've always followed the fnancial markets I know enough to know that my knowledge is limited (many thanks to T2W for providing this wonderful resource).

I'm not naive: I'm well aware that there's no golden goose (not that anyone would be selling). My own success in gambling has taught my excellent money and risk management skills, skills which I believe are transposable to any form of trading. Trading 100+ live footie matches a month in the cut-throat markets is excellent training for anyone.

I opened a CMC Markets account a couple of weeks back but was forced to close after turning a 15% profit on the FTSE 100 spreads, at which point my order executions were delayed by up to two minutes! (How this firm can justify their behaviour is still a bewilderment).

I want to trade futures, keeping to markets which I know better that others; namely the FTSE / DOW. What prodviders will allow me to do this? I'm opening a FuturesBetting account, but are there others which offer DA (InteractiveBrokers)? I also now have ShareScope which I use for LSE prices.

Any advice would be most appreciated.
Many thanks.