Alternative to stockcharts.com for UK market

This is a discussion on Alternative to stockcharts.com for UK market within the First Steps forums, part of the Reception category; Hi there - I've signed up with stockcharts.com for their basic paid service and it's really good for preparing portfolio ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jan 27, 2008, 3:45pm   #1
Joined Dec 2007
Alternative to stockcharts.com for UK market

Hi there - I've signed up with stockcharts.com for their basic paid service and it's really good for preparing portfolio lists and running scans on US shares etc. But as a newbie I've been recommended to trade UK shares which apparently tend to be less volatile than US stocks (especially just now!). Unfortunately stockcharts doesn't cover the UK market so I can't use it.

I've tried bigcharts.com but it just doesn't seem to cut it in terms of functionality and usefulness. Can anyone recommend something similar to stockcharts for UK? I don't mind paying as long as it's not too expensive.

Thanks
gododdin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2008, 5:28pm   #2

Joined Jul 2007
I used Sharescope Gold in the past; you can do you own data mining on all UK stocks. You can download a demo from Ionic's website.
Old Jan 27, 2008, 6:54pm   #3
Joined Dec 2007
gododdin started this thread Hi Shadowninja - thanks for the tip! Unfortunately I'm running a Mac so Sharescope Gold won't work (unless I upgrade to an Intel Mac and load Windows on it, but then I might as well buy a PC with Windows, and I swore I'd never go there again!)
Old Jan 27, 2008, 9:51pm   #4

Joined Jul 2007
Oh. Can't you run some sort of emulator?
Old Jan 27, 2008, 10:25pm   #5
Joined Dec 2007