Should a system work across all stocks?

This is a discussion on Should a system work across all stocks? within the First Steps forums, part of the Reception category; I've been playing with metastock for a few months now - and - having a slight knack for programming - ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Nov 20, 2006, 7:43am   #1

3 Posts
Joined Aug 2006
Should a system work across all stocks?

I've been playing with metastock for a few months now - and - having a slight knack for programming - haven't found it too difficult to come up with a handful of systems that appear to have some success.

I'm well aware of the pitfalls of backtesting, but: should a system that works well on a few stocks, be thrown out just because they don't work on all stocks and therefore would lose money if applied to the market as a whole?

If a system works on stocks A, B and C, but not very well on X, Y and Z be used to trade just A, B and C? or am I kidding myself?

any thoughts appreciated
Oscar74
oscar74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2006, 8:11am   #2
Joined Jun 2004
a good trading system will work on all financial instruments, not just stocks. The more a trader has to narrow down the number of markets he or she thinks the system applies to, the weaker the system
Pippppin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2006, 8:29am   #3
Joined Nov 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pippppin
a good trading system will work on all financial instruments, not just stocks. The more a trader has to narrow down the number of markets he or she thinks the system applies to, the weaker the system
Why should this be so ? I very much doubt it. For example why should currency futures trade the same as stock index futures ? In fact they do not.

A successfull system for trading stock index futures may use a number of inputs that are not even available in the forex market - eg DOM, things like VIX, TRIN, TICK, BID/ASK ratios, perhaps the behaviour of related options etc etc.