How much money do I NEED to start?

This is a discussion on How much money do I NEED to start? within the First Steps forums, part of the Reception category; Hello all. I'm new to trading but I'm very interested and want to learn and find out if it's something ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Dec 11, 2016, 2:53pm   #1

2 Posts
Joined Dec 2016
How much money do I NEED to start?

Hello all. I'm new to trading but I'm very interested and want to learn and find out if it's something I could be good at. I'm wondering if it would even be worth trying to start day trading with only $200 (with $4.95 commission on each trade). If I had to guess, honestly, I'd guess that it would be next to impossible to make a profit with such a small investment. Should I even try with this amount of money or, if not, how much should I have in my account before I start trading?
sci4me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2016, 3:14pm   #2

Joined Aug 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by sci4me View Post
Hello all. I'm new to trading but I'm very interested and want to learn and find out if it's something I could be good at. I'm wondering if it would even be worth trying to start day trading with only $200 (with $4.95 commission on each trade). If I had to guess, honestly, I'd guess that it would be next to impossible to make a profit with such a small investment. Should I even try with this amount of money or, if not, how much should I have in my account before I start trading?
$10,000, at minimum. In the meantime, you can study the market, work on a trading plan, and practice.
dbphoenix is online now Training literature vendor (e.g courses / spreadbetting guides / eBooks)   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2016, 4:10pm   #3
NVP

Joined Jun 2004
thats a little high personally - you can start with less than that