Greetings all - a little advice??

This is a discussion on Greetings all - a little advice?? within the First Steps forums, part of the Reception category; Hi guys and gals, My name is Luke and I'm new to the world of trading. Just to give you ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jun 25, 2012, 3:52pm   #1

4 Posts
Joined Jun 2012
Greetings all - a little advice??

Hi guys and gals,

My name is Luke and I'm new to the world of trading. Just to give you a bit more background information about me - I'm 22 and I start university later this year studying International Business and Economics at Aston University (England).

I became interested in trading while doing an assignment earlier this year. I had to decide whether Tesco PLC was a good investment over a ten year period. After my research I became so convinced that it was, that I decided to spend £1000 of my own money and bought 316 shares in the company at 3.10728p each.

Now, I don't actually intend to hold onto these shares for ten years. I've heard the rhetoric about keeping your winners and selling your losers, but I feel a nice twenty to thirty per cent gain would be more useful to me right now.

So my question is, do you guys think I've made a good bet? Certainly the price has went down a bit since I first bought them, and I could have got them cheaper if I had waited longer. However, it seems to be coming back up slowly. I would like to sell somewhere around 4.00p.

Here is a link to the london stock exchange Tesco page to save you guys some time - TESCO PLC ORD 5P Interactive Chart - London Stock Exchange

Hope to get some interesting responses!

~ Luke

Last edited by Syntaxis; Jun 25, 2012 at 4:14pm.
Syntaxis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2012, 12:35am   #2

4 Posts
Joined Jun 2012
Re: Greetings all - a little advice??

Syntaxis started this thread *bump*
Old Jun 27, 2012, 7:10am   #3

Joined Sep 2005