Where do I start?

This is a discussion on Where do I start? within the First Steps forums, part of the Reception category; Hi all, I am really new to trading and have zero knowledge about it. I just want to hear from ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Nov 7, 2011, 2:26am   #1

1 Posts
Joined May 2011
Where do I start?

Hi all,

I am really new to trading and have zero knowledge about it. I just want to hear from someone who had started from nothing but gradually built up a portfolio. What's the first step, what books should I read, what techniques should I learn?

Thanks in advance

Frank
nwqwhf13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2011, 9:39pm   #2

Joined Apr 2011
Re: Where do I start?

First, do you have a background in finance or at the very least, are you financially literate? if no, either learn or join a protest.

If yes then look on google about the mechanics of the markets you wish to trade, does some guy sit there throwing kilograms of onions at the people who bought them, is it all paper like early japanese rice futures etc.

Once you know the basics of what goes on behind the scenes you can move toward what type of analysis you prefer. Technical, fundamental, technimental, totallymental, and the list goes on.

Decided? good, google for books about the subjects and study.

need anything else, ask us.
enragedcow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2011, 12:13am   #3

Joined Nov 2010

Friday evening and I'm behind the computer... Can it get any worse? Nevertheless it's for a good cause. Trying to keep the poor sheep away from the wolves (vendors). I can only tell you about futures since I trade forex myself, but I think trading stocks, options or whatever product wont be much different.