Bitcoin Advice

This is a discussion on Bitcoin Advice within the Cryptocurrencies forums, part of the Markets category; I've decided to take the plunge with BTC; I'm a bit of a newb although I've done a bit of ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Mar 20, 2015, 1:17am   #1
Joined Jan 2015
Bitcoin Advice

I've decided to take the plunge with BTC; I'm a bit of a newb although I've done a bit of research.

To buy the BTC, I've decided to use Kraken as the exchange (first on google rank!) and so I guess they must have some credibility.

The bigger question is that of an offline wallet?

According to: https://bitcoin.org/en/choose-your-wallet, there are 6 to choose from:

Bitcoin Core, Armory, Electrum, mSIGNA, MultiBit, Green Address - all of which have a weakness of some sort.

(My general approach for BTC is to just buy a few and hold them. If BTC goes global, I'll be happy, if not, and BTC becomes obsolete, no big loss.)

So, let's suppose I chose Electrum, which seems to be one of the easier ones to use.

If I download the wallet to a computer, can I then move the BTCs to an external HDD? Or, do I have to store them only on the computer? It's just that I have a netbook I don't use much with Windows 7 starter and thought I could use that. The question is, what happens if the HDD on the netbook fails, do I lose the BTCs?

I'm also a bit unclear about BTC addresses? When I buy the the BTCs on Kraken, for example, I have to give an address from my offline wallet? How is the address generated?

Thanks in advance.
asimpleplan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2015, 6:56pm   #2
Joined Jan 2015
Create an account with Bitstamp and leave your Bitcoin with them. I have been with them for around 3 years now and they have proved to be trustworthy - I have upwards of 30 Bitcoins with them at any given moment.

They will be safer than storing in a cold wallet. If you lose your HDD, or if someone gives your computer a bath - you'll lose them.