IB good or not?

This is a discussion on IB good or not? within the Brokerages forums, part of the Commercial category; Hi, I am an algo trader from HK trades HSI Future, is IB ok for doing algo trades? Is it's ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Dec 3, 2008, 3:36am   #1
Joined Oct 2008
IB good or not?

Hi, I am an algo trader from HK trades HSI Future, is IB ok for doing algo trades? Is it's API good and easy to develop? Is it's slippage large if I place market order? Is it's system steady if I just turn on my PC for a month without resetting it and re-open it's TWS?

So many questions regarding IB. Thanks for your help.
mythseason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2008, 4:07am   #2
Joined Jan 2008
IB's platform is pretty third-rate to be honest. I don't like it at all, the charting is a joke. However - I know very little about developing API for it, just that a lot of people seem to have issue with it.
clockwork71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2008, 4:27am   #3
Joined Nov 2004
IB is one of the best if not the best. Charts are not very good but in all other respects it is hard to find a better broker in terms of low commissions, range of markets, stability of platform etc etc. There are plenty of good low cost (or even free) charting packages that work with IB. To describe IB's platform as "third rate" is ridiculous.

The API is fairly easy to use and reliable. IMHO some things in the API could be done better, but it will get the job done. There is also FIX support available for higher volume traders. There is support for many different order types including OCA orders. It will probably meet your needs, but it's hard to be sure without knowing more about what you want to do.