How to hedge currency risk with Interactive Brokers?

This is a discussion on How to hedge currency risk with Interactive Brokers? within the Brokerages forums, part of the Commercial category; Hi guys, I've got a GBP account with interactive brokers via a Limited company and I've been making some trades ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 20, 2016, 11:42am   #1
Joined Apr 2013
How to hedge currency risk with Interactive Brokers?

Hi guys,

I've got a GBP account with interactive brokers via a Limited company and I've been making some trades in the US markets for the last 3 months or so but in most of the trades I've ended up giving back part of the profit when closing the trade and converting back from USD to GBP.

I've read some comments on the forum about this subject but I didn't manage to see how is this currency risk actually hedged with Interactive Brokers?

For example, if I'm investing £30,000; what is the best way/instrument for hedging the investment against currency fluctuations when buying a USD stock with GBP funds?

Thank you!
mickael28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2016, 1:38pm   #2
Joined Apr 2013
mickael28 started this thread Hiya,

Do you guys think this question would be better asked in a different section of the forum? I'd like to see a practical example of how it's done to try with my Interactive Broker demo account first and after with the real one...

At the moment I've tried using the FX hedge options that one has when entering a trade in a different currency (FX conversion and FX Ideal Pro) but, it seems that in both cases you are still exposed to the currency risk anyway.

Any idea what I should try?

Thanks
Old May 24, 2016, 5:12am   #3

Joined Mar 2016
You have no real currency risk, because IB lend you the currency in which you buy.

Example:

GBP.USD = 1.50... USD 150k = GBP 100k