Interviews Interview with Tape Reading Trader – Joel Parker

PM: = Paul Mullen (Interviewer)
JP: = Joel Parker (Tape Reading Trader)

PM: What is it that you do related to trading?

JP: I’m primarily a trader but I do have a service where I educate other traders about price action trading and reading tape.

PM: What is it you trade and how long have you been doing it?

JP: At this point in my trading career, I trade futures – usually the emini S&P and crude; I bounce around a lot between other futures contracts depending on what clients want to look at. I started out trading back in the mid-nineties and at that time I was trading equities, a little longer timeframe, anywhere from a month to three or four months, what you would probably call a short-term investor. I quickly became addicted to trading and gradually became more and more active until I was primarily a scalper with a few longer term positions.

PM: How did you get started in the industry?

JP: When I started with my short term investing, it was primarily out of frustration with a money management firm. It was a large national firm, and I kept watching the statements - month after month they were earning more in fees than what they made me, and I finally got to the point where I felt it would be better just to put my money under the mattress than leave it with them.

At the time, I owned a couple of businesses that were very dependant on customers spending their discretionary income. I watched the sales, and I saw clearly the ups and downs in the economy. So I based my outlook on that as well as my own gut feel about where the economy was headed. That was a successful approach almost immediately.