Brokers are killing me

caladhanbrood

I'm a relatively new trader and started trading October 2013. I had good beginners luck where I made 10% in one month and 10% in the next to end with a portfolio up approx 21% in just two months. Both of these stocks were uk stocks.*

However the investment strategy I use is the CANSLIM model founded by William J O'neill and as a result it was difficult to use the system for uk stocks and the easiest method seemed to be to subscribe to their daily newsletter and use their website and newsletter to screen for stocks which meet the CANSLIM criteria.*

Enter all the problems :(

(Here I started to diversify my portfolio to reduce the level of risk)

Around the beginning-mid December, I invested in 2 stocks. I bought YNDX at $43.22, a little higher than the proper $41.90 entry, and ALXN at $128.73 from a buy point of just below $127. Upon buying both of these stocks I was met with a nasty surprise. I noticed that the exchange rate I was being quoted didn't reflect what I found online and it is here that I learned of the hidden FX charges. In this case I was with Hargreaves Lansdown who charge a ridiculous 1.7% FX commission. They also insist on settling everything in GBP. It meant when I bought a stock I was already 1.7% down. If I wanted to sell the stock straight away I'd lose another 1.7%.