best system for learning

jimmydean

Morning all,

I'm going to ask a fairly generic question here and apologies beforehand... but what do you think is the best system for a complete novice, like myself, to begin to understand the principles of the stock market?

I have no intention of investing any money anytime soon. I want to make sure I have done enough research to the point where I feel I am confident to make my first trade. Considering how much information and learning there is on trading that's not going to be for a while! Any pointers you can put my way I'd be very grateful.

Bit about my background I'm 26 years old and worked in healthcare for the last 5 years.

Cheers,

Jim :|

Sign up to a spread betting firm with a demo account, this will give you a good understanding of terminology, position sizes and the different types of markets. I would never recommend to put any of your hard earned into one of these spreadbetting firms though, for numerous different reasons.

It depends

In reply to jimmydean's post, I think it all depend on your personality, objective and time available, etc.
Personality - do you like quick action, video game? Or do you like fishing, reading, chess, etc?
Objective - beat the inflation? Get regular side income? speculate big time?
Time available - for learning, research.
I think it is best that you can answer some of these questions before you dive in.
A few very good books as a starter - (1)Trading For A Living (Alexander Elder); (2) Market Wizards (Jack Schwager); (3) The Reminiscence Of A Stock Operator (Edwin Lefevre)
Good luck to you investment / trading journey!

Hi Jim,
Welcome to T2W.

When you first registered on the site, you were sent a welcome e-mail with some links to Sticky threads that are also shown in my signature, below. Have you read them? If not, start there and report back with any comments or questions.
Tim.

Plus 500 noob here :)

Hi Jim