Advice from you all would be great

ryangillespie

Hi everyone,

I have allways been very interested in the financial markets.

When I left school it came down to the Army or uni, I chose the army and followed in the family tradition. I served 6 years and have left at the age of 24.
As I do not have a degree I know it will be extreamly hard to break through to the front office .

I have been employed by Rathbones in the channel islands initialy as a trainee in the trust department but after 5 months I have been promoted to bookkeeper. I am studying ACCA and hope that when I am a qualified accountant this will make up for the fact that I have not been to uni.

I hope to move into product control and from the to an assistant or trainee position.

Do you think this is the best route? I know im way off in the Trust department and may move to funds.

Any ideas or advice would be great

Thank you all in advance

Cheers:D:D:D

Ryan,
i did my 6.
if i'd stayed in i would already have just completed my 22.
in life one should never have any regrets, but if i could roll back time, knowing what i know now, i would never have left the Army.
i would have used the fantastic situation of living virtually rent- and food-free, to put a down-payment every 12 or 18 months or so on a buy-to-let apartment.
With the advent of the internet now, I'd also trade part-time.
Then when my 22 years finished, all the mortgages paid off on 10+ apartments, I'd retire somewhere hot and cheap (Thailand ?) and never work again.
So my advice to a young man ?
Re-enlist !

I wish I could mate, I have a baby on the way. Its not a family life as im sure you know.

I had the best years so far in the army. Now that I have left I am determined to get were I want to be in finance. Do you trade full time or do you have a job in finance.

You have a big plus!

I wish I could mate, I have a baby on the way. Its not a family life as im sure you know.