Advice on Scalping Dax

echizen

Greetings,

I am relatively new to trading but have begun working on Dax scalp that works on the principle that:

1. Use 3 minute chart
2. 3 MA has crossed 6MA and 12 MA is in a positive gradient (reverse for selling)
3. 10 point stop loss
4. Exit when 3MA crosses 6MA (still not sure whether to use the 1Min Chart or 3Min Chart regarding this)

Overall, it kinda works, although there is a lot needed refine it. In particular:

1. Avoiding false dawns and channelling/bearing in mind support/resistance levels.
2. What limit do I go for? In other discussions we've batted around the idea of 50-100 points (there is normally a handful of such movements on each day). Of course not all trades go to 50 let along 100 so there is the possibility for 20/30 point gains to be lost.

So my questions are:
1. Should I use another indicator, if so what would you recommend and why?
2. How could I calculate an optimum limit to set?

Just for clarification I am using Capital Spread/IG Index and the method has worked on live accounts.

Many thanks

If there are a handful of 1:10 movements each day in the Dax then you don't need to alter your strategy, and you're going to be very rich in a very short period of time.

Good luck.

Thanks.

I've begun to adjust to 2 min and use a stochastic oscillator to determine if the market is overbought or oversold. but it's not helping with the false dawn scenario which is eroding the bottom line. Once the thing goes over 80 or under 20 it in effect becomes useless. Any advice?

I've tried that approach but it appears I'm leaving too much money on the table i.e. I have less than 10 points by the time it reaches either the 80 or 20 but then it will shoot off and go up another 20+. I'm just wondering if there is a way to adjust the stochastic to reflect that

e.g. At the moment %k is 14,3 and %d is 14,3,3