A system with good potential, how would you improve it?

rockford

Hi,

Although I have been a forum member and occasional visitor since 2003, this is my first post, so I realise that you will almost certainly view my comments with a lot of scepticism. I'm here to ask for your advice, not to pretend that I'm a trading expert (which I'm not).

I have uncovered a system for day trading the Dow Jones Index, which I have recently started trading for real. So far it's very early days, but it seems to be going to plan so far.

It's a very raw system, and from what I've read on here, most traders would look at it, shoot it down with flames, then run a mile. However, to me the figures are just too good to ignore, so I am running with it.

If you have any tips on how I could make it more tradeable, I will be grateful to hear them.

Without revealing everything, here are the basics of the system...

I came up with the system after looking at a caption of about a months historical data. It looked promising so I ran a test which showed that it appears to have worked for many years. It has nothing to do with charts, or any other complicated system. I just noticed that the Dow did something regularly, which is very obvious. It’s not linked to any part of the day.

Using a simple moving average formula I can come up with a with a buy signal, as soon as I know the opening price. The signal is normally triggered 4 days out of 5 on average. I use a different moving average formula to produce a sell signal, which also gets about 4 trades every 5 days on average.

Each signal is traded independently of each other. I place buy orders on the Wall Street Daily Cash, and the sell orders on the Wall Street Daily Future.

Some days there are no bets, some days both orders are triggered, and others just a buy or a sell signal.