Indicators/Oscillators

DDI

Experienced member
I started trading in 2002 and then I tried using indicators such as MACD, Stochastics, RSI etc..... I put them aside as I always saw conflicting signals so in general never helped my trading.

However I am being lured into using them again. For those who use them in their trading which ones work best and also do they work best long term (i.e daily charts) or are they just as efficient on 5 min and 15 min charts?

Would be grateful for responses.

thnx

I am currently testing a trading plan which will use Smooth Stochastics crossover as an entry into a long or short position on the condition that other indicators (purposely vague) are behaving in a specific and identical manner (purposely vague again!). I've so far found that if these indicators are not conflicting with each other you get good entry signals. If they conflict, you don't trade.

So far, I've found that this plan works best in a trending market.

Naturally, I annotate the price chart with S/R level(s), trend line(s), Fib and two MA's.

I use one other indicator to manage the position with an eye on the price chart and on above indicators. Any negative developments and the position is closed. All indicator settings are not mainstream.

I don't use MACD.

I am intending to trade on a daily chart basis then moving to 1 hr charts should I be successful.

Hope this helps

DDI said:
I started trading in 2002 and then I tried using indicators such as MACD, Stochastics, RSI etc..... I put them aside as I always saw conflicting signals so in general never helped my trading.

However I am being lured into using them again. For those who use them in their trading which ones work best and also do they work best long term (i.e daily charts) or are they just as efficient on 5 min and 15 min charts?

thnx

Hi DDI,

May I ask why you feel "lured into using them again."

You almost sound reluctant to get back to them !

Thanks

Damian

DDI said:

thnx