IG

in Brokers / Forex, Spread Betting & CFDs

IG is a global leader in online trading, providing fast and flexible access to over 15,000 financial markets – including indices, shares, forex and commodities.
We are a member of the FTSE 250, with headquarters located in the City of London. We offer both leveraged and non-leveraged products via our award-winning platform and mobile apps.

We are regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA), and process an average of over seven million transactions globally per quarter (Apr-Jun 2016). We were established in 1974 and now have over 152,600 clients worldwide, with a net global trading revenue of £456.3 million (May 2016).


Country: United Kingdom

Website: https://www.ig.com/uk/why-ig

Ranked #20 of 59 Brokers

Rated

Member reviews

Add review

Oct 18, 2017

How to get a Account with IG Index.

They only Give accounts to people who are employed and have over total annual income of 25,000 - £49,999 and total savings £50,000 - £149,999. If that is not true then they have scammed me. as I am not far off those figures.

Registered User (1 review, 0 posts)

0 of 0 members found this review helpful.

May 26, 2017

Competitive pricing, nice research part

I don't trade with them but others might find useful the Brokerchooser IG Review -> http://brokerchooser.com/broker-reviews/ig-review
They were pretty positive about IG although the company has it's weak points like the too overcrowded platform and only leveraged product availability.

Member (3 reviews, 0 posts)

0 of 0 members found this review helpful.

Jan 29, 2017

Fairly solid, but stop losses questionable

was trading with and they are the biggest so fairly easy choice to go with. Pretty much everything meets expectations. Platform is stable enough and their spreads are pretty good. they have education online so can teach myself a few things. everything was going well then during the gbp flash crash in november I got stopped out of my trade pretty bad. I tried to complain about it but they refused point blank and no real customer service, just referred me to their terms and conditions, so I decided to look for a new provider and after a decent searchi think I have decided on XTB. All in all I think IG are ok, just didn't like they way they handled my complaint. Hopefully better luck with XTB.

Member (1 review, 20 posts)

2 of 2 members found this review helpful.

Jan 26, 2017

best strategy for trading

what is the essence of trading when you don't profit. Have you been tossed around by cyber swindlers and scammers and above all amateur traders, making you lose money.that's what you get when you fail to let professionals trade for you. well, i found a strategy,which i have been using and it helped me regain my money i lost during trading and i made more profit. you too can regain your lost money and gain profit in a short time of two weeks. contact me sharonmore350@gmail.com or johnwalton1414@gmail.com

Member (3 reviews, 0 posts)

0 of 0 members found this review helpful.

Nov 30, 2016

Pathetic

I have been trying to setup a new account with IG also for the past 2-3 weeks. They are pathetic. It is painful in how incompetent they are and I am shocked they have any customers.
I agree with the comments below in that how can anyone trust that they would deal with a real issue with any priority and basic ability. I think mentally deranged chimps could do a better job.

I opened an account with a competitor around the same time and they actually called me and made sure everything was setup correctly and I was happy…. I guess there are no bananas in their break room.

Member (1 review, 0 posts)

2 of 2 members found this review helpful.

Nov 15, 2016

Not the same problem for italian customers

I read so many negative comments, but I have never had problems with this broker. Although I admit that is not what we use most, and i didn't invest huge sums, which is perhaps why I haven't suffered from the same issues listed in the reviews here. Customer service is pretty quick, at least over here for Italian customers. As for the trading conditions (se here for IG trading condition for italian markets), you have always been respected. Here we IG is considered among the top 10 brokers on almost all the sites in the industry.

Member (1 review, 3 posts)

0 of 0 members found this review helpful.

Aug 15, 2016

Terrible customer service

I've been trying to set up a new account with IG for 3 weeks already, and it's still not done :-D. I can only imagine
how terrible is their customer service when you need to do something more serious, like withdraw funds for example...

Member (1 review, 35 posts)

3 of 3 members found this review helpful.

Jun 27, 2016

Avoid using for Binaries its a bucket shop more you win the more they want you to go away!!!

Avoid its a bucket shop for Binaries. They do not like winners. The favourite way to make you lose your money is they tamper with the execution. I am talking about Binaries here where speed of trade execution is everything.
Your losing trades will nearly always without fail get accepted. But when it comes time to Close the trade to take your profits this is where it becomes obvious they are tampering. You either get a long delay where you cannot do anything while they manually examine the price to see if its moving in their favour or you get a rejection then the market has moved away so you either lose money or by the time you try again the binary has expired or got within 30 secs of the expiry so you cannot do anything.
This has been going on for well over a decade now but as Binaries are not a regulated financial instrument there is nothing you can do except avoid using IG Index. Shame the FCA do not force them to state the timestamp accepted/rejected & delay time in a loggable format so the customer has absolute proof. This would then make the underhand practise go away as you can prove it so they would not bother trying that anymore!!
Shame as everything else on their trading platform is superior to the other offerings I do not even think they would lose much if they did allow instant execution as it would be made up for by the volume of customers they would attract & someone will always lose to guarantee their profits when they get overconfident & or the tight spread causes a misjudgement on the price action required!
I have used them on/off for well over a decade nothing ever changes either. Also like others have said in their reviews here they tamper with large winning positions so you appear to either lose it all & or they somehow change your pricing data so you see on their trading platform such a drastic price movement you close either with a loss or greatly reduced profit!
I am not talking small amounts of money either I have been up over £14K on a single trade then due to them manipulating my price data its dropped to £1.4K in the blink of an eye & lurched into negative a few times but as soon as I closed the position their underlying shot back up to the true price on the open market costing me well over £12K!!
You see underhand tactics they have the playbook as they wrote it you cannot possibly beat them over time they will wipe you out & put you into serious debt if you let them!

Member (1 review, 50 posts)

1 of 1 members found this review helpful.

Jun 17, 2016

If you are wise Stay Away!

Be very careful using this broker for spread betting.
It seem widely recommended, from my experience instead I could say there are a lot of suspicious behaviour around it.
Spreads widen disproportionately on occasion (as much as 3%), slippage is another huge component (I have been closing positions when showing an amount but when cash out the value was a little lower, always) and finally position closed microscopically with loss several times, when the price of other providers did not go there either in buy or sell.
I have the feeling your battle is not ’just’ against the market but against the broker too.

New Member (1 review, 0 posts)

1 of 1 members found this review helpful.

Feb 24, 2016

Account application refused - lack of any logic.

I use prorealtime and really like it. I tried to join IG so that I could use prorealtime to read charts and execute with one platform but was refused due to lack of income and liquid assets. I do own two property's outright. It does leave a question mark about their ability to sufficiently manage their own risk. If they cannot stipulate the account size or leverage amount without also saying that you must earn a certain amount (clearly to keep the option open to retrieve losses) then they are not exactly offering a reassuring message.
To add: they then rang me a week later to ask me to complete my application - they had no record of themselves turning down my application. When the issue of not sufficient credit was explained I told them other brokers were not stipulating a liquid asset level as high as theirs but I was told this was not true. Sorry, but I have had accounts with Go Markets, FXCM and Dukascopy in the last year and always gave the same details - they were happy with the asset level and deposit level. I understand prorealtime is available with Interactive Brokers and a 5,000 Euro deposit. This would definitely be my preferred option to IG in this scenario. Failing that, I will happily continue with Dukascopy for execution.

Member (1 review, 0 posts)

1 of 1 members found this review helpful.

1 - 10 of 57

You need to be logged in to post reviews

Loading...