IG

in Brokers / Forex, Spread Betting & CFDs

IG is a global leader in online trading, providing fast and flexible access to over 10,000 financial markets – including shares, indices, forex, commodities and binaries.

Established in 1974 as the world’s first financial spread betting firm, its aim is to become the default choice for active traders globally. It is already an award-winning multi-platform trading company, the world’s No.1 provider of CFDs* and a global leader in forex, and will be launching its new execution-only stockbroking service in late 2014.

It is a member of the FTSE 250, with offices across Europe, Africa, Asia-Pacific and the US, where it offers limited risk derivatives contracts via the Nadex brand.

*Based on revenue excluding FX, published financial statements, August 2013.


Country: United Kingdom

Website: https://www.ig.com/uk/why-ig

Ranked #17 of 52 Brokers

Rated

Member reviews

Add review

Nov 20, 2014

Robbed

I placed a position with IG Gold in 1 hour it showed a profit $6250 then started to go down so I took a profit $$5250-5150+/- the position closed the next day on my statement said this never happened it closed out and I lost 250+/- sterling could not belevie it anyone eles had problems like this?

Member (1 review, 0 posts)

1 of 1 members found this review helpful.

Sep 17, 2014

Be careful

I have no dought but they run against you .If you place a stop, they run to the stop.
Like a casino when you start you win, then everything changes , and you are taken to the clener .

Most of those ganecy and broker they use the same software all linked to eachother, they run super computer software that ordinary person does not know .
They can run the price down until all traders are clened up ! They earn commission for this , two commission, yor money and the bank stock money !

Those firms they appear to be regulated, yes we know they are regulated by crooks !

Of course any casino has his winner otherwise no one would want to go there ! its the same here ,

on 100 traded tickets going long , 97 % of them the rpice go down . It shows how verything its very well rigged against .

Save your money !

Member (2 reviews, 11 posts)

0 of 1 members found this review helpful.

Nov 25, 2013

See link in post to read about a big loss on Binary markets

I guess you just have to be very careful with the binary markets in general.. read here for a 500 loss on the binary markets
http://www.makemesomemoney.co.uk/lost-500-binary-markets/

Member (1 review, 217 posts)

1 of 1 members found this review helpful.

Oct 22, 2013

Binary Option is not for me

My experience with IG's spread bet platform is pretty limited. Have you guys considered giving Capital Spreads, Accendo Markets, Saxo a go? Check if they offer the bets you want. I've been pleased with their spread betting platform , however I have never placed binary bets with them.

Member (1 review, 37 posts)

0 of 1 members found this review helpful.

Oct 21, 2013

Disappointed


All I need to say is I am disappointed. Didn't realise how good my previous broker was.

Newbie (1 review, 0 posts)

3 of 3 members found this review helpful.

May 13, 2013

Same tricks

Beware the small print '...prices are indicative only'
Gave IG another chance with their DFBs as execution is good (provided you don't go in at market it almost mimics DMA, that's obviously the aim) and the platform has always been v.nice. But it's a mirage, watch for old tricks.
e.g. Nice EUR gap Sunday night open gave a quick 11 points, but they turned a blind eye to that as presumably there weren't many traders... or if I let paranoia get the better of me maybe that was just my price. But I don't mean it was a flash move up/down, I mean it was up for 30 mins or so with IG quoting 10 points off the mark and with a wildly fluctuating spread. If they were that blatant at peak times they'd be out of business.
Then tried them again, not because I suddenly trusted them but because I liked their deal-thru charts from ProRealTime, and this time suffered truly epic slippage. Which is bizarre as I don't believe these small bets are actually traded through the underlying markets. And they didn't do me the honour of adjusting my stops & limits accordingly, just money straight out of my account and into theirs.
Spoke to their customer service guy and he blathered on about how '...all trades go to the underlying market... well nearly all... well, some don't... well most go through... ok some are in-house' and that's all I needed to hear.
I don't trust any spreadbet co. from past experience so watch for the tiniest impropriety, I'll not get mugged again. So now just left with Prospreads so if they do something daft guess I'll have to get a proper job.
One point might seem harsh given everything else seems fine but you can either trust someone with your livelihood or you can't.

Newbie (3 reviews, 0 posts)

9 of 9 members found this review helpful.

May 03, 2013

worst experience with IG

hii i am trading with IG and having a nightmare of an experience worst spread betting company in my opinion.. Initally they are good but once you start making money out of them then the real problem starts... trades get monitored and rejection rate increases .. especially binary and options trades... in binary trade even small size of 2 pound goes to the dealing desk and options trading is on dealer refferel...IG has all the products but when you start making money every trade is on a dealer refferel.. and every second trade gets rejected.. in my opinion one of the worst companies to spread bet with .. regards

Newbie (1 review, 0 posts)

11 of 12 members found this review helpful.

Jan 18, 2013

New Low Spreads - until the market opens!

Noticed that IG Index increased their spreads on one US stock form 10 to 136 when the market opened. However, on 4th Jan they increased the spread on a large S&P500 stock from 13 to 517! Don't be conned by the low spreads statements!

Newbie (1 review, 0 posts)

7 of 10 members found this review helpful.

Dec 14, 2011

THEY NEVER CHANGE!

THEY MOVE THE GOAL POSTS..THEY WILL NEVER CHANGE..

New Member (1 review, 0 posts)

5 of 7 members found this review helpful.

Dec 11, 2011

Much better nowadays than they used to be many years ago.

UPDATE: Spring 2013 - IG have recently & substantially increased their bet size minimums, for a great number of popular instruments; as a result of which, I would now recommend IG Index as being a far more appropriate choice for very well funded and experienced clients. Those new to spreadbetting, or with account sizes between a few hundred and a few thousand, really ought to open an account with at least one other spread bet company instead. Having said that, Please DYOR! & here follows my original review.
-
Due to the vastly increased competition since just before the early 2000's when I first joined Ig Index, I do believe that they have in the past few years finally got their act together. That is, they are now a spread bet company which I would at last very much recommend. Over a decade ago, when I'd first joined, they were nowhere near as professional in their dealings with customers: All kinds of shenanigans occurred in earlier days as you can most surely read from the other reviews. In fact, because I despised the way they messed around in the late nineties and early 2000's, with stops etc., I used to be primarily a customer of CMC spreadbet; however, since CMC dropped futures bets in oil and gold, I've decided to re-try Ig Index again - a year or so ago, after a long break. And, I'm very pleased to say that in the past year they've been an excellent company with whom to spread bet. Indeed, they used to be scoundrels who'd fleece you on stops etc., but all that has seemed to change recently - again I'm sure that industry competition has forced them to clean up their act. They have quite possibly one of the widest range of instruments available. Their trading platform works wonderfully, and I particularly love their text message alerts for market prices - whereby you can set the prices you wish to be alerted of, and when they hit, your phone will tell you, courtesy of Ig Index. Brilliant - now that's something which is very useful that many other firms have yet to offer! Their spreads are, at last, often market leading. What's more, I've not experienced any issues with stop hunting - beyond that which ordinarily has occurred in the wider markets. Also they've recently introduced a 'price improvement' policy, which I can verify does work, of often giving clients a better fill price in a fast moving market. Now that's a very welcome policy! All in all, I am (at last!) a happy customer of Ig Index and I would most truthfully highly recommend them (but please do note that it's wise to have more than one spread betting account) whatever your experience of spread betting is. Lastly, I'm sorry to say that I can't say the same of CMC any more...

Member (1 review, 185 posts)

7 of 10 members found this review helpful.

1 - 10 of 33

You need to be logged in to post reviews

Loading...