Reminiscences of a Stock Operator

by Edwin Lefevre

in Books / Classics, People

First published in 1923, Reminiscences of a Stock Operator is the fictionalized biography of Jesse Livermore, one of the greatest speculators ever. Reminiscences remains the most widely read, highly recommended investment book ever written. Generations of investors have found that it has more to teach them about themselves and other investors than years of experience in the market. This is a timeless tale that will enrich the lives - and portfolios - of today's investors as it has those of generations past.


Publish date: 2012-02-09

Isbn: 0471059706

Ranked #2 of 172 Books

Book_0057_

Rated

Member reviews

Add review

Mar 16, 2011

Required reading, IMHO

In my opinion, a required reading by wannabe traders as well as seasoned ones. This book made clear to me the importance of risk management. Without it even the best trader in the world will go broke!

New Member (3 reviews, 0 posts)

3 of 4 members found this review helpful.

Mar 15, 2011

It will benefit those who are intent on learning the true art of speculation

The book is a masterpiece but if you are searching for some kind get rich trading system, this book isnít for you. I personally think this book will only benefit those who are intent on learning the true art of speculation. Many of the trading 'lessons' are cleverly delivered in a subtle way through the use of anecdotes and they are as valid today as they were when first written almost 100 years ago.

You either Ďgetí it or you donít.

Member (3 reviews, 6067 posts)

4 of 5 members found this review helpful.

Mar 14, 2011

Speilberg should do it, which T2W poster is ugly enough to play the lead role?

Cracking read, brilliant piece of writing, part fiction part biography, highly entertaining. Later versions with addendums and annotations increase the enjoyment.

The current zeitgeist is to be 'smart' enough to discover the hidden meaning for retail traders, there is none, as a bible it's as impotent as other comfort blankets; Trading in the Zzzone etc...

Whilst the mindset of the trader may not have evolved over time, the methods employed have. In terms of relevance Jesse was a top level player of that there's no doubt, but he had more in common with Philip Green of Arcadia than Morgan Sze (formally of Goldman Sachs).

Registered User (2 reviews, 5613 posts)

0 of 2 members found this review helpful.

Mar 13, 2011

The best.

This book is simply extraordinary - as others have said, the best book on trading ever written.

Do not make the mistake of thinking that the book lacks practical application for the modern trader. It is immensely practical - I use the lessons it teaches every day that I trade.

If you open your mind this book will take you from the hardest sticking point on your journey - the break even stage - to the point where you becaome a profitable trader.

Brilliant in so many ways, this book is essential reading for any trader. If you get any idiots coming along wittering about "hidden meanings", you know that they are Walters who don't actually trade.

Member (3 reviews, 2334 posts)

2 of 3 members found this review helpful.

Mar 12, 2011

Justice

How is this book ranked #2 behind a book on Point and Figure charting?

This is THE best book ever written on trading.

Member (2 reviews, 4535 posts)

0 of 1 members found this review helpful.

Dec 01, 2010

An excellent read for traders.

I found this a great read from the norm. Great tips can be found from this book even though it is in a format of a story. Every time I read it I see another tip. A must read for all traders and one of my first book early in my trading days.

Member (16 reviews, 955 posts)

0 of 0 members found this review helpful.

Nov 28, 2010

Reminescences of a Stock operator

The legendary 'Boy Plunger' and 'Great Bear of Wall Street' who went short the market and made over 100 million dollars...

He killed himself, his wife shot her son...

Maybe not the best book for somebody who is new to trading and wants to live a long and prosperous life.

Member (2 reviews, 1794 posts)

0 of 0 members found this review helpful.

Nov 28, 2010

The most influential book I have read

This book is unbelievable the amount of information which is relevant to trading these days is so evident.



I can't recommend this book enough.



Lodian

Member (1 review, 119 posts)

0 of 0 members found this review helpful.

Sep 15, 2008

Life is Short Art is Long

I would not recccommend this to all the other Traders out there for the simple reason, it would place me at a far better advantage than them if they have not read it.....................

Many famous Artists have commited sucide or self-harm, but their work remains a Master Piece. Reading one of the rare negative comments, this would be my rebuttal.

This book is brilliant and is the Traders Text Book, along with Mark Douglas "The Discipled Trader". It is a re-readable book and written in an accessable way that puts home the relevant lessons much better than most of the modern day books out there.


"Timeless really"

Member (3 reviews, 221 posts)

0 of 0 members found this review helpful.

Sep 07, 2008

A Must Read

This is the best an only book you should ever read about trading... I read this 2-3 times a year and each time I do something else just falls into place or a new angle on an existing concept presents itself.

The detail and information in this book is as sound now as it was in 1923 when it was written.

If you dont read this you are missing out

Member (1 review, 1602 posts)

0 of 0 members found this review helpful.

11 - 20 of 31

You need to be logged in to post reviews

Loading...