Interviews Member Profile: dentist007

My Background
I am a Trade2Win (T2W) home grown lad.

I have no background in trading or technical analysis (TA). My father had no experience in the stock market. He invested some of his savings in the early 1970s and lost most of it when the market crashed in 1974. He did not wait a couple of years for the market to spring back. After watching him go through some pain, I vowed never to invest in the stock market. Luckily, he had some money invested in residential property, so all was not completely lost.

I grew up in Manchester. I am a Manu fan, went to the local grammar school and did science ‘A’ levels. I then went to University College London to study dentistry. I qualified as a dentist and went to work in general practice, which I have been in for 25 years. During that time I put aside money in the NHS pension scheme and, also, a private pension scheme. I did not look at the latter until the late 90’s, when I transferred money to a technology fund, which seemed great. This went up in leaps and bounds. Suddenly, I had a liking for the stock market!

Trading - the early years
I then went and enrolled as a client at a stockbroker which was near my dental practice in Surrey. I took their advice and invested all the pension pot into tech stocks. This was during the dot com boom. Consequently, over 80% was lost, swiftly. No stop loss or TA was used by the stockbroker. They just relied upon cash flow projections. The P/E ratios were in the stratosphere. So, from this, both my father and I have taken a pasting in the market.