Forex You Don’t Have to be a Day Trader to be a Success – Part 1

In recent times there has been a huge increase in the number of people trading currencies or forex as it is more commonly known. Most of those taking up this venture have turned to day trading as opposed to position trading or swing trading as their chosen approach. As a longer term trader myself, I am at a loss as to why so many choose to day trade when it is highly inefficient and ultimately costs a lot more in both time (sat in front of a pc all day) and money (commissions or cost of the spread). I can though easily see why the retail providers of forex trading facilities prefer day traders to any other type of trader and that is because it is much more profitable for them. As such they will market their services in such a way as to encourage potential clients to choose day trading over any other type of trading. The key reason given by those who advocate day trading is that the level of risk is much less than if you hold positions overnight. However, the evidence for this is seriously lacking. Whilst it is true that at the end of every day you have no positions open, it does not mean that you will incur less losses as a result of trading than someone who does hold positions overnight. You may well ask why this is the case and to answer this we will look at the key differences between day trading and holding positions on a longer timeframe:​

The smaller the timeframe the more random the movement and noise​