Taishara's GY / GU Trading Journal

Taishara

I am starting this as a way for my own tracking (besides my trading log / images) as well as to share what I am doing with friends and family (other than lots of email).

About me and how I got here:
I started trading in July 2007. I quickly realized I was not going to figure out how to do this on my own, so I took classes with a school (contact me directly if you want to know more about that). I graduated in June of 2008 and had a baby in July 2008... I was in 18 month old baby / new born baby tailspin for about 6 months (that is being generous... probably more like 9 - 10 months).

I got my act together and started really focusing on GY (GBP / JPY, hereafter called GY). Around the same time, I started noticing a serious heart burn with my full time job.

After lots of studying, lots of conversations with my husband, and lots and lots of praying, my husband and I came to the decision that I was going to leave my full time job and trade. If it is what I am supposed to be doing, I will do ok. If not, I can get a job. But I was not going anywhere but terrible health and unhappiness there, so why was I there?

So that was July 2009. I have since had (it seems) every cold strain and flu strain (except H1N1) available in Illinois. Ah the joys of children in day care!

Taishara the Trader:
In that time I met 2 major professional milestones.

1. I developed 2 trading contexts that I am able to see and act upon. This includes money management strategy and written trading rules.

2. I documented my psychological guide. I used Mark Douglas' Trading in the Zone to help me start to work through the bad habits I had picked up over the years of trading so far. I am done with identifying my rules at this time, but I will never be done working on the psychology. If you are a trader and haven't read the book, I highly recommend it.