On the right track?

mollymoomar

Please could anybody advise me. I am new to trading and use finspreads. I use prophet.net to look at markets (cost £30/month). I am using fib ratio's to determine my entry points (127% and 162%)and do not risk more than 5% of my capital on any trade. My risk:reward ratio should be 3:1. I would like achieve 100 pts per month trading the dow and other US stocks. I will trade end of day and can only commit an hour a day to my endeavours.

In your experience is this achievable or am I heading in the wrong direction. I understand that discipline and emotions play a huge part and I hope to improve and learn from my mistakes. I am not expecting to become rich overnight but over the long haul I hope to develop my capital and skills.

I also like Marc Rivallands Swing trading technique and would also like to ask if using two different systems is feasible.

Any help or advice would be welcome.

It sounds like you have a definite system in your own mind.

Are you on the right track? From the point of view that you seem to have a definite trading strategy, I would say yes, you seem to be along the right lines. But that will ultimately depend on how well researched your trading system is. Your expected risk/reward ratio of 3:1 - where has that come from? Is there a good reason upon which you can base an expectation on 3:1?

5% risk per trade would be classed by many as slightly excessive risk, but this depends on your expected winning strike-rate. Are you prepared, for example, to watch your capital deplete by 50% if you had a bad run of 10 losing trades?

As for trading U.S. Stocks and not day-trading. Yep - that's exactly what I do every day and it has worked well for me.

To take your final point of operating two different systems. Technically, there's no problem with this; discretionary traders use many different methods to trade. You should just be careful as a beginning trader not to confuse yourself.