Is creating professional investment software a good business idea?

kevpries

So...i am a software developer and thinking on some catching software idea that will sell well. I am considering to create a software that can for instance: Calculate SABR volatility, calculate black-scholes, calculate fx options kholagen model, predict prices based on neural networks, calculate var, sortino ratio, sharpe ratio, follows progress of your portfolio. Anyway...the idea is this to be like a swiss knife for the professional investor. Do you think it will sell? Like...in that economy and given that most mentioned things can already be found free in google. Also, i have about $60k put aside to invest in such venture and planning a price about $500 per one year license. 10x!

I see. Have you considered setting up a company to train prospective traders? You don't need to know anything about trading, just pretend you are a stock Market veteran of 20 years and you know the secrets the pros use.

I see. Have you considered setting up a company to train prospective traders? You don't need to know anything about trading, just pretend you are a stock Market veteran of 20 years and you know the secrets the pros use.

Ok, sign me up already.

Heh good point... :).
I can even write a book "how I made $2,000,000 trading frozen orange juice futures...and then lost all" - speaking of which the last part of the sentence is never mentioned in this type of books.
Seriously though, I don't think too many people buy into this type of thing - there are obviously newbies out there but competition is fierce and most people are sceptical. I will be called a ponzi 9 out of 10 times and if I sell the "system" it will be for about $50 i guess. Let alone that it will be totally immoral..well.