Volatility stop loss

This is a discussion on Volatility stop loss within the Forex forums, part of the Markets category; Hi there, I'm new to FX trading but I have traded shares before. Looking to trade FX on a mid ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Sep 15, 2017, 4:06pm   #1
Joined Feb 2011
Volatility stop loss

Hi there,
I'm new to FX trading but I have traded shares before.
Looking to trade FX on a mid to long term basis, based on fundamentals. Trying to figure out a volatility stop loss using ATR but not sure how many periods I should go for.
Can anyone help?
mcginty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2017, 4:55pm   #2
Joined Feb 2002
Depends on your horizon for wanting to stay in the trade, but I have heard of 2 x ATR14 being recommended in long-term trend-following. See rayner teo on Youtube.

I have used 2ATR once or twice in the absence of a more rational TA-based price level.
tomorton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2017, 5:00pm   #3
Joined Feb 2011
mcginty started this thread Hi Tom,
Thanks for your answer. I aim to hold positions for weeks or months.
mcginty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2017, 5:05pm   #4
Joined Feb 2002
Then rayner teo should definitely be interesting. Nice youtube channel, terrible website.
Thanks! The following members like this post: mcginty
Old Sep 20, 2017, 5:40am   #5
Joined Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcginty View Post
Hi there,
I'm new to FX trading but I have traded shares before.
Looking to trade FX on a mid to long term basis, based on fundamentals. Trying to figure out a volatility stop loss using ATR but not sure how many periods I should go for.
Can anyone help?
Observe market non-stop for several month and you will work out mental stops as well as S/R levels where majority of market stops can be piled up. But without bank flow it's impossible to determine actual S/R which give edge to institutional brokers.

ATR and other technical stuff is basically useless.