Alexander Elder

This is a discussion on Alexander Elder within the First Steps forums, part of the Reception category; Hi, i am just getting started on spread betting and am thinking about buying Elder's "Come into my trading room" ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Apr 10, 2004, 4:12pm   #1
SBM

8 Posts
Joined Apr 2004
Alexander Elder

Hi, i am just getting started on spread betting and am thinking about buying Elder's "Come into my trading room" but do i need to have read "Trading for a living" first?

Thanks
SBM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2004, 4:21pm   #2

Joined Nov 2000
No.

I have both books - Come Into is by far the better of them.
Skimbleshanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2004, 11:09pm   #3

3 Posts
Joined Jan 2004
After reading Elder's 2nd book it was interesting to see just how much he had learned in the years between, and how much he had altered his trading settings. Proof that the market is forever moving and one must adjust ones methods to keep up with the changes as time goes by.
Old Apr 19, 2004, 11:30am   #4

Joined Oct 2003
Elder Books

I've been reading Elder's book CIMTR and a few months on, I haven't finished it yet after been told I wouldn't be able to put it down. So far I've gleaned some fascinating insights on trading psychology and it has helped to focus my thoughts on what is needed for successful trading. It's certainly a worthwhile book but I'm not convinced there's enough in it to help you build a sound trading system you can actually trade with confidence.

rgds
S
Old Apr 19, 2004, 12:08pm   #5
Joined Jan 2003
I've found with most books on trading that I learn a few "nuggets" from each book I read and end up disregarding a lot of what is said.